E is for Eggplant Raita

In Maharashtra, where I come from, this is called Vaangyache bhareet.

A cooling and tummy friendly raita, despite what the ingredients may suggest – it is perfect for the summer months ahead.

If it makes things easier, think of it as a version of baba ghanoush covered in a blanket ofย yogurt.

 

Eggplant raita - before adding yoghurt

Eggplant raita – before adding yoghurt

Eggplant raita - with yoghurt

Eggplant raita – with yoghurt

 

Ingredients:

2 medium eggplants

1 small onion, shopped fine,

1 medium tomato, chopped

1-2 tablespoons of fresh coriander, chopped

salt to taste

1/2 teaspoon of paprika

1 teaspoon of cumin-coriander powder

3/4 cup thick yogurt, chilled

Method:

1. Pre-heat the oven to Gas 5 (400 F) for 10 minutes. Place the eggplants whole (stem and all) on a lighted greased, deep pan and roast them for about 40-50 minutes. They are done when the skin is charred and the insides are a squishy mush. Keep a close watch on the oven and turn them around after 20-30 minutes so that they don’t explode in your oven. (If you prefer, you could also prick the skin with a fork before roasting.)

2. Once the eggplants are cool, scoop out the flesh and mash with the back of a fork.

3. Add in the chopped onions, tomatoes, fresh coriander, salt and the spices. Mix well.

4. Just before serving, top with yoghurt and mix well.

5. Garnish with a sprig of coriander.

Enjoy with some spicy pulao or use it as a dip for some oven hot nan bread.

About The Weekend Baker

Weekend baker, cook book collector, gatherer of family recipes.
This entry was posted in Baking, Savoury and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to E is for Eggplant Raita

  1. Reminds me that I haven’t made this in ages – time to rectify that! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Kajal says:

    I must try this…I love yogurt and like experimenting with it ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks!

  3. S(t)ri says:

    I must ask my mom to try this!!! Looks yummy!!!

    Stri

  4. Beloo Mehra says:

    Baba ghanoush covered in a blanket of yogurt….now this my husband would really love to cook and eat as well ๐Ÿ™‚ Must share this recipe with him!

  5. swathishenoy says:

    I am going to try this ๐Ÿ™‚ But without yogurt!!! Hope that turns out good too!

  6. innovative.. dont think ive ever had anything like this…

  7. Shilpa Garg says:

    Have never tried or tasted this recipe. Must try it out! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Eggplant in Raita – never thought that combination. Just discussed with my wife to try it sometime..Thanks for this nice, colorful post…

  9. Ananya Kiran says:

    I used to hate egg plants, for many many years. Recently, I visited a restaurant where I tasted it, since then started preparing it at home. Thanks for the recipe will try it this week ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Thanks for the recipe. As you know, I’m looking for ways to make eggplant interesting. This helps and looks doable. Ananya, I’m hoping to convert my family like you have been.

  11. I have never had eggplant, but I like raita, so I might have to try this. Sounds yummy!

    Stopping by from the A to Z ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Eli says:

    Oh yum! That’s great – I love raita and I love eggplants, but never thought of combining… So many great versions of raita… Will definitely try this one! Thanks for sharing:-)

  13. shailajav says:

    This looks totally scrumptious! Monica, I am coming over this summer ๐Ÿ˜›

  14. Baracuda! This is super delicious ๐Ÿ˜€ Cannot believe this ๐Ÿ˜› Egg plant? And raita! genuis ๐Ÿ˜€

    Richa

  15. nabanita says:

    Ohh this sounds interesting…I should try making this…

    Random Thoughts Naba

  16. shellymona says:

    It’s a new recipe for me…I will try it for sure…
    Interesting ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Shalzzz says:

    Hate eggplants but my husband loves them! So, this is for him ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Marcia says:

    Yogurt with eggplant. I have to try this! My husband makes a similar relish but uses balsamic vinegar and olive oil. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

Leave a Reply

