D is for Dry fruit and nut breakfast bars

These bars are crammed with all the healthy stuff you need for a Grab and Go breakfast day.  What’s not to like?

Don’t like almonds? Add pecans. Don’t want the cherries? Add cranberries. You get the idea!

It takes about 5 minutes to get the ingredients together, another 20-25 in the oven. That’s it. Breakfast is sorted for the next few days.

Carry along with you for breakfast on the run. Equally great for that mid morning snack or after the gym.

This makes about 8-10 bars.

Freshly baked dry fruit and nut bars

Freshly baked dry fruit and nut bars

Perfect with a cuppa!

Perfect with a cuppa!

Ingredients:

1 cup dates, pureed

3 tablespoons maple syrup

1 cup oats (I used porridge oats)

1 cup lightly toasted almond meal*

1/2 cup assorted nuts, chopped fine

1 tablespoon sunflower seeds

1 cup dry fruit (I used a mix of cherries, blueberries, sultanas, currants, cranberries, mixed with some candied orange peel)

2 tablespoons Weetabix, crushed (or wheat bran)

a pinch of salt

1-2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Oil or butter to grease the pan

3/4 teaspoon all spice (optional)

Method:

1. Preheat oven to Gas 4 (350 F) for about 10 minutes.

2. Grease the baking pan.

3. Mix all dry ingredients together. Then add in the wet ingredients and give it a good stir.

4. Press the mix into a pan ensuring that it’s evenly distributed.

5. Bake until edges start to turn golden for about 20-25 minutes.

6. Cut into bars or squares once cooled.

 

Notes:

1. You could also add 1-2 tsp of ground flaxseeds to the mix, before baking.

2. I like my bars dense and chewy. If you prefer a lighter version, you could use 1/2 cup almond meal and 1/2 cup slivered almonds.

About The Weekend Baker

Weekend baker, cook book collector, gatherer of family recipes.
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to D is for Dry fruit and nut breakfast bars

  1. shailajav says:

    May I just say that your pictures are criminally drool-worthy? 😛 Love the succint method of narration and the simple, elegant design of the posts, Mon!

  2. Shalzzz says:

    You make me go yum..esp with your pics!! 🙂 🙂

  3. This is great! I am going to try this…will make a great afternoon snack given that I get hungry every couple of hours. Might skip the sultanas as I’m not a fan but dried cranberries, cherries etc sound great!

  4. Marcia says:

    This recipe shouts fiber and yummy taste! Thank you!

  5. Eli says:

    I have a thing for bars:-) And this looks like a yummy recipe – will try it:-) Great pics

  6. belindareger says:

    Nice one Monica.. Will try it soon.

  7. djinnia says:

    those look so good. took a moment to realize that sultanas were raisins. =D definitely in my to keep file!

  8. obsessivemom says:

    This looks delicious and is so healthy.. I can pass them off as ‘junk’ to the kids. Bookmarking.Can it happen in a microwave?

    • Hmm. Good question, Tulika. I’ve never tried it but my guess is no. I don’t think you will get the crust or the firm bars, unless you are planning to use a convection microwave. That may work. If you try it please let me know!
      Cheers!

  9. Cristina says:

    If you could see my face when I comp up to your blog on my “list”, smiles and a gasp! “What’s she gonna make today!”

    You aim to please~ Delish! And now I want some tea!!

  10. Amanda says:

    I love the idea of these bars. I think I’m going to try making these on Sunday. They seem like the perfect during school day snack. Thanks for sharing!

  11. Sunni Morris says:

    Okay, I love snack bars too. I may have to follow your blog.

    Sunni
    http://sunni-survivinglife.blogspot.com/

  12. theegetawaygal says:

    These look delicious, I love a new bar recipe! The picture of the bar sitting with the cup of coffee made me want to jump right in an grab a bite, YUM! Glad to be visiting from the A to Z Challenge.
    http://theegetawaygal.com

  13. Ooh, those would be good for a exercise snack.

  14. Shilpa Garg says:

    Wish I could grab one bar off the laptop screen right now!! 😀

  15. Kajal says:

    Well, sorry to say but the ingredients do not excite me as much. But those pictures of the final product makes me go wow! Not that much of a cook either 😛

  16. S(t)ri says:

    Lovely n yummy ❤

    Stri

  17. Ananya Kiran says:

    I am a bad cook so …
    😉

Leave a Reply

