Q is for Quesadilla Quarters

This recipe has been born out of a plain and simple need to lay out something filling and nutritious when you have a finger food menu, or when you need to contribute to a potluck and need to make a fair number of these, quite quickly.

You could, of course, do this the conventional way but I find this method much easier. I’m no good at cutting quesadillas neatly and I always end up with higgledy piggledy pieces with unequally distributed filling. The quesadillas quarters is my quick fix method.

This recipe can be easily multiplied.

What you will need:

10 whole wheat chapatis or tortilla halves (that’s 5 chapatis/ tortillas in total)

5-6 tablespoons, pizza or pasta sauce (I used a tomato-basil version.)

150 gms of a filling of your choice (meat, colourful veggies – you choose)

100-120 grams of grated cheddar

1 teaspoon Fajita spice mix or paprika

2 tablespoons of oil

2 baking trays, one slightly smaller than the other

What you need to do:

  1. Pre heat oven to Gas 7 (420 F or 220 C) with both the baking trays in it.
  2. Lay the tortilla halves on a plate or your clean counter top. (I used whole wheat chapatis.)
Whole wheat chapatis

Whole wheat chapatis

3. Spread the sauce all over. Add the filling on one half, sprinkle with grated cheese and the fajita spice mix. Then fold the other half of the tortilla over  the filling.

Prepping the quesadillas

Prepping the quesadillas

4. Place the quarter on to a well greased baking tray.

5. Continue until you have the required number of quarters or until your tray is full.

Quesadillas ready to be baked

Quesadillas ready to be baked

6. Drizzle some oil over the quesadilla quarters and then place the smaller tray over them as a weight.

7. Place the trays in the oven for about 10-15 minutes.

8. Serve hot.

 

Crispy quesadilla quarters

Crispy quesadilla quarters

Notes:

1. Ensure that your filling is chopped into bite sized pieces so that the filling does not tumble out mid-bite. There’s nothing worse at a finger food buffet than trying to juggle some sparkling conversation with an errant mouthful.

2. Divide your filling into the number of quesadilla pieces so that you end up with evenly filled quarters.

3. I have tried this on a skillet and timed it too. It takes the same time to make 2-3 quarters on a skillet as it did to bake 8 in the oven. No brainer, this one. Plus, the baked ones were a lot crispier.

 

 

 

About The Weekend Baker

Weekend baker, cook book collector, gatherer of family recipes.
This entry was posted in Appetisers and Nibbles, Baking, Savoury and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Q is for Quesadilla Quarters

  1. Sunni Morris says:

    Wow! I love all your recipes. I may have to print them all out. Quesadillas is one of my favorites.

    Sunni
    http://sunni-survivinglife.blogspot.com/

  2. sunila says:

    Yummm I will try all these one by one 🙂

  3. Cathy says:

    Another great recipe to try. I’m really enjoying all your recipes. You sound like quite the adventurous cook!
    http://cattitudeandgratitude.blogspot.ca/2014/04/q-is-for-quill-and-quite-quietly.html

    • Thanks, Cathy. I do like experimenting and I find it really hard to follow recipes to the T. Plus, I’d rather use up what I have than rush off to buy fancy ingredients just for a single recipe. 🙂
      I’m really happy to hear that you are enjoying the recipes. Cheers.

  4. extrakitchn says:

    This is like the most common supper dish in my family. And this is so varied, as mention. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you! Isn’t it just. I love the fact that I can make it so many different ways and never tire of quesadillas. 🙂
      I loved your Pepper Charred Squash and I’m going to give your version a go. What a coincidence that my post today also features roasted squash. 🙂

  5. Carol Graham says:

    Love Quesadillas. Make them often. With homemade Guacamole of course.

    Carol @ Battered Hope

  6. obsessivemom says:

    This sounds doable.. Must give it a shot.

  7. belindareger says:

    Lovely and I liked the fact that I can use chappathi. Thanks for the lovely recipe Monica.

Leave a Reply

