K is for Kathi rolls, my way

Kathi rolls, for the uninitiated, originally referred to kebabs wrapped in a roti or paratha. (Indian flat breads). Similar in concept to a burrito.

Over the years, the term Kathi roll has come to represent meat or veggies wrapped in flat bread along with some raw onions and tomatoes with a generous helping of chutney. (No raw onions for me, thank you.)

I find it the perfect makeover for leftovers. In this version, I have replaced the rotis/parathas with flaky puff pastry.

Choose your fillings and you are ready to go. I made some chicken kathi rolls and a paneer (Indian cottage cheese) version for my vegetarian husband.

Ingredients:

1 pack of store bought Puff pastry (320 grams)

150 – 200 grams of chicken or paneer stuffing

Kathi roll with puff pastry

Kathi roll with puff pastry

Method:

1. Pre heat the oven to Gas 4 (350 F).

2. Roll the puff pastry out into nice circles. You can choose to make it about 5-6 inches in diameter or roll out mini ones if you want them as appetisers. (This pack of puff pastry makes 4 of 6 ” each.)

3. Heat a skillet and cook the puff pastry lightly on both sides till you get little brown patches that indicate it is half done.

4. Once you have your semi cooked puff pastry circles, add in the filling in a horizontal line.

5. Roll up the puff pastry over the filling.

6. Place the rolls on baking trays and place in the oven for about 15-20 minutes, rotating the trays once through the process to ensure even baking.

7. The rolls are done when the puff pastry is golden and flaky.

8. Wrap some parchment paper or foil around the base of the kathi rolls so that you can eat them without getting your hands all messy.

9. Serve them with a chutney or a cucumber-yogurt raita, as I did.

 

Chicken Kathi Roll

Chicken Kathi Roll

IMG_4471_2

Paneer Kathi Roll

Notes:

1. It is important to semi cook the puff pastry in the skillet. If you cook it too much, it will crack when you are trying to roll it over the fillings.

2. Any fillings work. I aim for a balance of protein and veggies to make this dish a complete meal.

 

 

 

About The Weekend Baker

Weekend baker, cook book collector, gatherer of family recipes.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Baking, Savoury and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to K is for Kathi rolls, my way

  1. Shalzzz says:

    Yummmmmmmmmmmm…..you are making me drool at 5.21am… 😦 😦
    I’ll try this today!!!!

  2. obsessivemom says:

    Hmmm…. You said your husband does the pictures, right? Well he does a darned cool job. I think I’ll go get breakfast now. You make me hungry.

  3. shailajav says:

    No raw onions for me either! We are soul sisters 🙂 Love the sound of the paneer version, Mon!

  4. Eli says:

    Oh yes!! That looks YUM Monica! And the recipe seems do-able also. ya ya – putting it on my list:-)

  5. nabanita says:

    And it’s time for breakfast I look at my toast and I look at this and I say oh no! I want the roll!

    Latest A2Z Challenge Post-Random Thoughts Naba

  6. S(t)ri says:

    yummy and mouth watering 😦

    ~S(t)ri
    Participant|AtoZ Challenge 2014
    Smile, it makes (y)our day!

  7. Cat says:

    I’m sure I’ve gained ten pounds reading your delicious recipes. YUM! This really sounds good. Cute name for these rolls. Hey, I’m a Cathy, too only with a C.
    http://cattitudeandgratitude.blogspot.ca/2014/04/k-is-for-kobie.html

  8. sandy says:

    Add onions to mine please. I’ve never heard of those, but they sure do look good and now I’m hungry. lol Here through a-z

  9. elzbthc says:

    Those look really good and I love the idea of puff pastry. Never thought of cooking it in a skillet, thanks

  10. Ananya Kiran says:

    Gotta try this one !

  11. Rajlakshmi says:

    growl!!! that’s my stomach grumbling… not a good sign at the middle of the night

Leave a Reply

