J is for Jammie Dodgers, with a twist

If you like PB&J sandwiches, this cookie is right up your street. That’s right, these are Peanut Butter Jammie Dodgers.

An American slant on a very British cookie!

Jammie Dodgers with Peanut butter

Jammie Dodgers with Peanut butter

Ingredients:

1 quantity Basic Vanilla Cookie dough

2 tablespoons smooth Peanut butter

2 tablespoons Raspberry Jam

1 teaspoon powdered sugar

Method:

1. Make the cookie dough as per the instructions in the Basic Vanilla Cookie Dough recipe. Chill the discs of dough in the fridge for an hour or two.

2. Using cookie cutters dipped in flour, cut out the shapes you want.   You will need an even number of cookies to make Jammie Dodgers since these are essentially sandwich cookies. I used a large cookie cutter and then a smaller one to cut out the circles for the cookie rings on top.

3. Bake cookies in a preheated oven at Gas 4 (350 F) as per instructions in the Basic Vanilla Cookie Dough recipe. Once the cookies are done, keep aside to cool.

4. Heat the raspberry jam so that you get the consistency of thick honey. Keep aside. ( It is easier to pipe or spread this on to the cookies rather than straight of out of the jar.)

5. Once the cookies are cool, slather the peanut butter generously over the base cookie. Pipe or drop half a teaspoon of jam on to the centre of the peanut butter. (I prefer to add the jam before placing the second cookie on top to avoid jam smudges. )

5. Dust some powdered sugar over the cut out rings.

Prepping the Jammie Dodgers

Prepping the Jammie Dodgers

6. Sandwich the cookies together and have yourself a Jammie Dodgers afternoon.

Jammie Dodger for tea!

Jammie Dodger for tea!

About The Weekend Baker

Weekend baker, cook book collector, gatherer of family recipes.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to J is for Jammie Dodgers, with a twist

  1. alfenner says:

    ahhhhh, I really shouldn’t read your posts right before the late-night snack attack! These look super yummy!

  2. reshmakothare says:

    feast for the eyes and soul

  3. Eli says:

    Oh , you’re killin me here…! drooling over your picture and dream about the post-atoztime of my life… Will be hanging in the kitchen with your recipes, dear:-)

  4. shailajav says:

    Oh YUM!! These look great.

  5. sugandha says:

    and I am attempting to diet. How do I continue reading other posts without indulging into something sinfully sweet and tasty?

  6. S(t)ri says:

    yummmyyy … am drooling over here!! 😦

    ~S(t)ri
    Participant|AtoZ Challenge 2014
    Smile, it makes (y)our day!

  7. tamiprincipe says:

    That looks so good!

  8. helldoesntownme says:

    These look so delicious. Since I’m allergic to peanuts, I’ll try them w/ almond butter. Love the idea (though I’d tell myself that w/ a glass of milk, it’s just like eating a PB&J sandwich for lunch so I’d serve them for tea).

    Thanks for the visit to my blog. I’m adding yours to my recipe bookmark. Drusilla

  9. Laurel Regan says:

    These look SO yummy – my mouth is watering now! Great idea – I’ll have to try it. Thanks for sharing!

  10. obsessivemom says:

    You are a magician. Period.

  11. Shalzzz says:

    Yum.. beautiful pics tooo 🙂
    Shalzzz|Loving Life
    Check out my latest at Tale of Two Tomatoes

  12. Cristina says:

    I am so sad.
    I am allergic to peanut butter.
    I wasn’t always.
    Age.
    I miss peanut butter.

    And that’s my crazy attempt at sad poetry. I know I’m not good at it. But I really wanted to convey my sadness at not being able to eat these,

    Just JELLY!

  13. Yum! Looks good! I like making grilled peanut butter and jelly sandwiches…do it just like grilled cheese sandwiches.

    Penny
    http://www.pennymcdaniel.com

  14. Charlotte says:

    Mmmm these sound delicious. A classic combination of flavours in a way I’ve never seen them before.

  15. Thanks, Charlotte. These are my ‘grown up’ version of jammie dodgers. And I love PB&J sandwiches, so that helps. 🙂

Leave a Reply

