I is for Ice Cream Cup cookies

I have never really liked ice cream cones. I eat way too slowly and by the time I am half way through my cone is dripping a sticky mess onto my toes. I have often wondered why ice creams aren’t served in edible cups instead.

I want my ice cream in cookie cups that you can munch on long after the ice cream has gone. I also want them to look like the pretty chocolate dipped waffle cones.

Here is my solution!

Ice cream cup cookies - tah-dah!

Ice cream cup cookies – tah-dah!

Ingredients:

1 quantity Basic Vanilla Cookie dough

6-8 Silicon cup cake moulds

6-8 Cup cake cases

A few spoons of uncooked rice or lentils or ceramic baking beans (as weights)

Method:

This part is similar to making pie crust.

1. Take a small ball of dough and flatten it with your palms. Gently press it into each of the cup cake moulds ensuring that you have an even distribution. Any excess that overflows can be trimmed off with a knife.

2. Place the cup cake cases onto the dough.

3. Chill these for about an hour or two.

4. Pre heat the oven to Gas 4  (350 F) for 10 minutes.

5. Fill the cup cake cases with beans or lentils or rice.

 

Blind baking the cookies

Blind baking the cookies

6. Place in the oven and bake the cookies for 5-7 minutes. Remove from oven, then discard the cup cake cases. Prick the base of the cookie with a fork. Return the cookies to the oven, rotating the tray around to ensure even baking.

7.   Continue baking the cookies on their own for another 5-7 minutes. (This is similar to blind baking pie shells.) This will depend on the size of your cookie and also the type of oven you have. Look out for visual cues like the edges turning pink/golden.

Ice cream cup cookies - just baked

Ice cream cup cookies – just baked

8. Once done, cool the cup cookies.

9. Melt some chocolate in a bain marie. Dip the rims of the cookies in the melted chocolate.

10. Cool and place in the fridge for 20 minutes.

Ice cream cup cookies - with a rim of chocolate

Ice cream cup cookies – with a rim of chocolate

11. Serve with a generous scoop of your favourite ice cream.

 

Dive in!

Dive in!

Notes:

Left over dough can be frozen for the next time you get a craving for vanilla sugar cookies.

About The Weekend Baker

Weekend baker, cook book collector, gatherer of family recipes.
This entry was posted in Cookies, Desserts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to I is for Ice Cream Cup cookies

  1. Great idea. Yummo! I want one 🙂

  2. I love this idea! I will be back to see what other goodies you have. #atozchallenge

  3. Usha Menon says:

    Very interesting. Looks yummy. I will prepare this after 30th.

  4. alfenner says:

    ooooooh I think I better try these!!!

  5. S(t)ri says:

    Yummmy!!!! You are so so so tempting me to eat these!!! I want one now 😦 😦 *cries like a 5 year old*

    ~S(t)ri
    Participant|AtoZ Challenge 2014
    Smile, it makes (y)our day!

  6. Jhuls says:

    Wow! This is amazing!!! I should try this!! ❤ Thanks for sharing!

  7. What a brilliant idea, Monica. Can you parcel out some of them to me! Love how skillfully you’ve not only baked them, but shown each step.

  8. Wonderful idea. This is even better than the waffle cones. Must try it soon.

  9. shailajav says:

    I want one NOW!!! You can’t do this to me. (sob, sob) That picture of the melted chocolate tip is driving me crazy 😀

  10. Eli says:

    Oh yum! Great idea – will save that one for sure:-) Maybe this weekend… (dream on, E:-) … Ok, or in May-. to be realistic..:-) He he …

  11. sunila says:

    wow splendid idea 🙂 and so so drool-worthy, my lil one looked at the pics with such longing that I must give this a try n I agree abt cones being such a messy contraption, esp lil one makes a terrible mess with em

  12. Priya says:

    Hmmmm…….looks excellent!!!!

  13. Rajlakshmi says:

    Woww that looks delicious 😀 wonderful idea.

  14. subzeroricha says:

    Are you for real? You make all of this? It looks sooo yummy! I might invite you home someday, for a few years or something 😛

    Richa

  15. Cristina says:

    You need to stop with this stuff. You’re KILLING my waist line. Wait, don’t stop. I LOVE ICE CREAM (and yes I am shouting that). As far as ice cream cones, I don’t think you were given the right instruction! You bite off the bottom, and suck the ice cream through to keep it from dripping. Told you I was an expert (I have ice cream EVERY DAY) 🙂

  16. Cat says:

    You are such a creative cook! These look scrumptious and a perfect solution for melting ice cream.

    http://cattitudeandgratitude.blogspot.ca/2014/04/i-is-for-idiom-romance.html

  17. lonitownsend says:

    Are those pistachios?! Lactose intolerance prevents me from eating much ice cream, but who says we can’t eat the cups by themselves?

  18. Carol Graham says:

    I am a cookie monster — loved this idea. Can’t wait to try them — you make it easy to follow

    Carol @ Battered Hope

  19. obsessivemom says:

    I cannot even begin to imagine that I could make this. So tell me where you love and when you’re making this and I shall makeit convenient to visit you.

  20. obsessivemom says:

    *Live*

  21. Alok Singhal says:

    Looks so delicious 👍

Leave a Reply

