G is for Granola, crunchy and zesty

I’ve always loved Granola, served with cool yogurt and topped with lots of fruits. I just never got around to making it at home. Now that I have, I doubt store bought granola would make it past our door step again.

Simple, quick, and made with flavours that I love. No more picking those coconut flakes out of my breakfast bowl.

I’ve indulged my love for citrus and gone for an apricot-orange combination.

Eat what you love, love what you eat!, I say.

 

Crunchy orange- apricot granola

Crunchy orange- apricot granola

Ingredients:

2 cups oats

1 cup, chopped almonds

3/4 cup sunflower seeds

1/2 teaspoon salt

1.5 teaspoon all spice

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 cup maple syrup

1/4 cup oil

Zest and juice of 1 orange

1 cup dried apricots, chopped

1/4 cup green sweet raisins

Method:

1. Preheat oven to Gas 4 (350 F) for 10 minutes. Grease a baking sheet or baking pan and line with parchment paper. Keep aside.

2. In a large mixing bowl, tip in all the dry ingredients (except the apricots and raisins) and mix well.

3. Combine the maple syrup, oil and orange juice and zest and pour over the dry ingredients. Stir well.

4. Spread out the mixture onto the baking pan and pop into the oven.

5. Bake for about 30 – 45 minutes, giving it a stir every 15- 20 minutes so that the granola is evenly crunchy and golden. You can turn off the oven once the granola looks light brown in colour and you can smell the toasted flavours.

6. Now add in the apricots and raisins and mix well.

7. Granola will turn crunchy as it cools. Store in an airtight jar and it should keep well for about 3 weeks. if it lasts that long.

Serving suggestion:

Lots of Greek yogurt or any other thick yogurt, topped with fruit is my favourite way to enjoy a bowl of granola.

You can, of course, go to town with the toppings. I know someone who adds a huge scoop of ice cream to his! Hey, it’s a free country.

About The Weekend Baker

Weekend baker, cook book collector, gatherer of family recipes.
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to G is for Granola, crunchy and zesty

  1. S(t)ri says:

    Yummmyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am hungry already

    ~S(t)ri
    Participant|AtoZ Challenge 2014
    Smile, it makes (y)our day!

  2. nabanita says:

    I heard about this but never really tried it…maybe I will soon 🙂

    Random Thoughts Naba

  3. Shalzzz says:

    Wow!! This should be real good… ❤
    Shalzzz|Loving Life
    Check out my latest at TaleofTwoTomatoes

  4. Shelley Munro says:

    I love home made granola, and you’re right. It’s so much nicer and it’s fun to make as well.

    Shelley Munro

  5. Cat says:

    MMMM, that sounds way better than the store bought granola which is so sugar and fat laden. This sounds much tastier and healthier. YUM!

    http://cattitudeandgratitude.blogspot.ca/2014/04/g-is-for-grass-is-greener.html

  6. obsessivemom says:

    Compiling a cookery book now. This looks yummmmmy.

  7. alfenner says:

    I love that you can easily personalize granola to fit your (I mean your family’s) tastes 😉 hehe Thanks for the yummy recipe!

  8. gaurikekre says:

    it uses instant oats??? I am so going to try this soon!!!

  9. Donna Smith says:

    Yum! Sounds great…and probably noisy in your head, too!
    Donna Smith
    The A-to-Z Challenge
    Mainely Write

  10. Rory says:

    Here I thought, oh a cooking blog…and was going to move on. My husband is the family chef and baker (except for challah). Food prep stresses me out. But you’re inspiring me. This is a great looking breakfast recipe for our picky family.

    • Thank you, Rory. I am truly flattered. I can’t be bothered with fiddly stuff – if it’s not simple to make, I usually don’t bother with it. 🙂
      Hope you and your family like the granola. Would love to know what you think of it, if you do try it out.

  11. Cristina says:

    No coconut flakes? But I thought we were bestest buds?! Kidding. I love making my own granola. Now I have the idea for dried apricots! YUM!

  12. Elsie Amata says:

    This looks so yummy. I wish I had seen this before I went food shopping this morning cause now I want it!

  13. It’s awful when I read all your posts together (my fault) and then start getting cravings, Monica (your fault)! This is so do-able. Will try it out.

Leave a Reply

