F is for Figs, oven roasted with honey and cardamom

The decadence of the last week has prompted me to turn to a lighter recipe to kick-start Week 2 of the A-Z Challenge.

Honey is healthy isn’t it? And figs, they count towards 1 of your 5 a day! Healthy box ticked 🙂

So here they are, oven roasted figs with honey and a gentle kick of spice to liven it up.

Roasted figs with honey and cardamom

Roasted figs with honey and cardamom

Ingredients:

5 -6 figs

2 tablespoons of honey

1 teaspoon of vanilla

seeds from 2 cardamom pods, lightly bashed

1 tablespoon of butter, melted and slightly warm

Method:

1. Quarter the figs by slitting them from stem to base taking care not to cut all the way through.

2. Arrange them tightly in a deep oven proof bowl.

3. Mix together the honey, butter, cardamom seeds and vanilla. Warm the resulting syrup ever so lightly, to release the flavours.

4. Pour this mixture over the figs and bake for about 20 minutes till the figs are soft.

5. Serve warm with creme fraiche or greek yogurt. You could also chill them and serve them as they are.

A perfect end to a summer meal.

Notes:

1. My friends and fellow bloggers in India, this syrup reminds me of the Kismi toffee bars of yore. That declaration probably dates me, but hey, if you loved those little toffees in the red wax paper, you’ll love this confection. 🙂

2. These don’t store well and are best eaten on the same day.

 

About The Weekend Baker

Weekend baker, cook book collector, gatherer of family recipes.
This entry was posted in Baking, Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to F is for Figs, oven roasted with honey and cardamom

  1. Shalzzz says:

    Another of my hubby darling’s favourite- FIG! So, this too goes to my bookmarks 🙂 🙂 Thanks for such an amazing recipe.. Grt pic too 🙂 ❤

  2. My Dad has 5 fig trees – that’s a lot of figs for one family. We never cooked them, but he did supply a restaurant for a while. Next time I’m home I might surprise him with this recipe. Thanks

  3. sophiebowns says:

    What a lovely idea!

  4. precari0us says:

    This is one quick and lovely idea. Healthy option for the sweet tooth.

    – Kripali
    (AJ’s wHooligans)
    Sumptuous Living
    A2ZFiction

  5. WOW, that looks appetizing. Would love to try some of those! ♥

  6. belindareger says:

    My previous post for F was Figs too but, in a smoothie form and later removed the post as Fondant was closer to my heart than figs. Nice post.

  7. Cristina says:

    Um, please don’t take this the wrong way.
    I think I love you.
    FIGS, HONEY, CARDAMOM! I went a little ballistic with the sharing too. You knocked this outta the park (and I would eat this over ice cream because I am decadent!)

  8. nicolepyles says:

    I’ve never tried figs before! Good recipe to try! 🙂

  9. Laine Gray says:

    All these recipes sound so yummy! Many I will be trying- especially this one!

Leave a Reply

