C is for spicy, toasted Cashewnuts

This is reminiscent of the masala peanuts of my childhood. I found them far too spicy for me so this is a tamer version and using cashews that I love even more.

You can play around with the ingredients to get the taste that’s just right for you.

Masala cashews

Spicy Cashews

Serves: 2-3 as a bar snack

Ingredients:

200 gms cashewnuts

2 tablespoons butter or ghee (I used salted butter)

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/2 teaspoon red chilli powder or paprika

1/2 teaspoon amchur (dried mango powder)

1/2 teaspoon cumin-coriander powder

1 tablespoon besan (chickpea flour)

Method:

1. Melt the butter.

2. Add in all the ingredients except the cashewnuts. Taste to check the balance of the ingredients. Add or adjust the flavours as per your taste.

3. Pour the cashewnuts into a roasting pan. Pour over the spice paste and mix well so that the nuts are well covered.

4. Pop into a preheated oven (Gas 3, 180 C) and toast for about 5-7 minutes until the nuts turn golden.

5. Let cool. Store them in an airtight jar.

 

Notes:ย The nuts turn crunchy once cooled.

About The Weekend Baker

Weekend baker, cook book collector, gatherer of family recipes.
This entry was posted in Appetisers and Nibbles, Challenges and competitions and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to C is for spicy, toasted Cashewnuts

  1. S(t)ri says:

    Whoa, yummy!! It’s tea time here and your post made me hungry ๐Ÿ˜›

    ~S(t)ri
    Participant|AtoZ Challenge 2014
    Smile, it makes (y)our day!

  2. That looks yummy! ๐Ÿ™‚

    ~Sheethal

  3. obsessivemom says:

    I can binge on those cashews. And now I need to go get some.

  4. Rajlakshmi says:

    ooo yummy and crunchy ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. shailajav says:

    You know the advantage of having a husband who likes to cook? I can sit back and ask him to make this ๐Ÿ˜‰ Or just say something like, ‘Oh look. What do I do with all these cashews?’ Works every single time ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. My husband enjoys these a lot. And perhaps this one can be put to use soon!

    Richa

  7. I love cashews, but they are very expensive in my country, so I’ve only managed to eat them a couple of times. Would be nice to grow a tree.

    • Damaria, you can totally try this out with any kind of nuts. If you choose to use peanuts, you will need to increase the quantity of spices.
      It would be lovely to grow a tree or you could go visit Goa. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. belindareger says:

    My husband loves cashews and I’m sure this recipe will be bookmarked so I can use it. Nice post.

  9. Carol says:

    I don’t eat cashews, but I be my husband would love these.

  10. You’re a meanie! It’s 9.45 pm and I’ve had dinner and you’ve got my mouth watering!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. djinnia says:

    cashews! oh wow!

  12. Cristina says:

    I have a dinner to go to and would LOVE to make these. All I need is the amchur and the besan!

    YUMM-O!

  13. Those look delicious. Another book mark!

  14. Shere says:

    it looks very tasty and I’m a big fun of Indian spices.

    Shere y Paul
    PS:also participating in the AtoZ challenge with #tastytravel

  15. Shalzzz says:

    Aww.. yummy again!! My all time fav- give me a huge bowl of this- and I ll happily sit in a corner and eat….. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ May be, ask for more ๐Ÿ˜›

  16. Yum-o…a slight change to the roasted cashews I eat…

  17. Eli says:

    How nice to toast them yourself and like this… Hadn’t thought of that – but gonna save that recipe – looks very tasty!:-)

  18. Rainbow Hues says:

    Such an easy to make crunchy snack…might try it too ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks!

  19. Shilpa Garg says:

    I have bookmarked this post!! We usually buy spicy cashew nuts, but with this recipe, which is so simple and easy, I will make these at home from now on! Thanks for sharing! ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Rory says:

    Oh, these look amazing. I just gave my husband this link. He’s the cook. Yum!

Leave a Reply

