B is for Brownie bars, fudgy and chocolatey

These brownies are adapted from the Hummingbird Bakery’s Raspberry Cheesecake Brownies.

Lovely as the recipe is, I like to bake the brownie bars on their own. They can satisfy some serious cravings for dark chocolate.

I’ve made minor modifications to the recipe but here it is, dedicated to all you dark chocolate lovers out there – especially among the A-Z community!

Makes about 18 brownie bars, perhaps more, if you’re less generous with the serving size.

Fudgy brownies out of the oven

Fudgy brownies out of the oven

Ingredients:

200 gms dark chocolate, roughly chopped

200 gms butter

180-200 gms icing sugar

3 eggs

110 gms plain flour

 

Individually packed brownies

Individually packed brownies

Method:

1. Pre heat oven to Gas 3 (325 F).

2. Melt the chocolate in a bain-marie until completely melted.

3. Beat butter and sugar together until smooth.

4. Add eggs one at a time, mixing all the time so that they are well incorporated.

5. Add in the flour, a little at a time and mixing well so that you get a smooth batter.

6. Add in the chocolate and mix completely.

7. Pour into a greased baking tray and even out with a spatula.

8. Bake for about 30 minutes or until the top is firm. Let cool.

9. Refrigerate for a couple of hours and then cut into bars or squares.

10. Dust with confectioner’s sugar to prettify them or dig in if you can’t wait!

Notes:

1. I used 150 gms of Willie’s Cacao Chef Drop – Rio Caribe 72%. These are my new favourites. Beware they are terribly addictive too. For the balance 50 gms, I used Lindt cooking chocolate.

2. I have reduced the sugar from the original recipe. If you are using a different variety of chocolate, you may need to adjust the sugar, as per your taste.

3. Wrap the brownies bars individually to retain their fresh taste for longer.

 

About The Weekend Baker

Weekend baker, cook book collector, gatherer of family recipes.
This entry was posted in Baking, Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to B is for Brownie bars, fudgy and chocolatey

  1. extrakitchn says:

    brownies are always good, always welcome. thanks for the recipe 🙂

  2. shailajav says:

    DO you have an egg-less version Mon? These look scrumptious and I am having a hard time remembering that I am on a ‘no-sweets’ diet 😉

  3. S(t)ri says:

    Yummmyyyy!!! Mouth watering!! I think I am having illicit affair with brownies.. bcos I stealthily munch as much of them as possible!

  4. Rajlakshmi says:

    i am drooling all over my screen 😀 😀

  5. mydearbakes says:

    Really love your bake! It’s just so amazing!

  6. How can you post such pics…. I’m droolinggg…..
    Bookmarked!!!!

  7. belindareger says:

    They look yumm. My craving for chocolate never ends whatsoever.

  8. obsessivemom says:

    They look absolutely delicious!

  9. SITARA NAIR says:

    Would love to try it out
    ….

  10. swathishenoy says:

    Do tell me if i can try this without eggs!! I am getting cravings to eat brownies seeing this post 😀

  11. I hope you have converted this into a professional thing. Because you sound like a pro at it! And like every other person, I will try it 😀

    Richa

  12. You make it sound so simple..is it really that simple? will have to try it…as such I love to experiment baking 🙂

  13. I’ll have to try this. I love anything with chocolate, but my baking always goes wrong. It must be five years since I last tried, so I suppose it’s time to try again. It sounds easy.

  14. Kajal says:

    Now that’s a weakness for sure…but I just can’t cook…I can eat these though 😛

  15. Cristina says:

    For a while, I made brownies every week! I love, love, love brownies!!! 🙂

  16. djinnia says:

    ooo! i totally need to find a conversion table and make these! chocolate is my downfall!

  17. Ooooh! Nice. Trying these tomorrow so I can munch on them while I visit blogs. Looks dead easy to make, thanks.

  18. These look delish! Will definitely try them Jan recently posted http://www.mermaidsandcashmere.com/bee-balm-aka-wild-bergamot/

  19. Amanda says:

    Visiting from the A-Z Challenge. These look really delicious! I cannot wait to try them. 🙂
    Amanda at His and Her Hobbies

    • Thanks, Amanda.I loved your ‘background’ story! I can empathise with the sports mad family bit, mine is too, over cricket. Unfortunately, that’s turned me so off the game.
      Thanks for popping by my blog.

  20. Ananya Kiran says:

    Can I take a bite 🙂

  21. Roshni says:

    Yummy! This I will try out! Pinning for later!

  22. Shalzzz says:

    Couldn’t drop in yesterday; Glad that I stopped by now; Yum..I want to have a bite now. And yes, I wouldn’t be generous while serving that makes me have more in number. 😛 😛

  23. Oh my drool….I want! YUM 😀

  24. Nisha says:

    This place is absolutely yummm!!!

  25. Mmmmm….I’m going to try this! 🙂

  26. This is so bad for a chocoholic! 😀 But so-so good!!

Leave a Reply

