A is for Avocado-Tomato Bruschetta

Think deconstructed guacamole and combine that with crispy toasts. Bruschetta heaven!

It’s so simple it doesn’t really need a recipe. Just throw in the ingredients in the quantities you like to get the taste you want!

Avocado-Tomato Bruschetta

Avocado-Tomato Bruschetta

Ingredients:

1 Avocado, roughly mashed with a fork

Juice of 1/2 a lemon

1/2 a green chilli, chopped fine

a few stalks of coriander, chopped fine

1/4 teaspoon, freshly milled pepper

1/2 teaspoon, sea salt flakes

3-4 small tomatoes, sliced

1/4 onion, finely sliced

1 small pod of garlic

1 baguette, sliced

1 tablespoon olive oil or 1 tablespoon butter

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to Gas 5 for 5 minutes.

2. Rub the garlic pod onto slices of the baguette. Drizzle on some olive oil. Keep aside.

3. Mix together the avocado, pepper, lemon juice, chilli, coriander and pepper. Keep aside.

4. Pop the baguette into the oven until the slices are nicely toasted and turning slightly golden. Pull them out of the oven and let cool slightly.

5.Β Layer on the avocado mix and tomato slices. Add the chopped onion. Finally, top it off with some sea salt.

Serve immediately and enjoy the explosion of textures and tastes as you pop them in your mouth!

About The Weekend Baker

Weekend baker, cook book collector, gatherer of family recipes.
This entry was posted in Appetisers and Nibbles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to A is for Avocado-Tomato Bruschetta

  1. Marcia says:

    Paired with a cream soup, this does look manageable and surely delicious! I am looking to easy-peasy recipes for lunch; we do have fastfood delivered just tooooo often! Thank you for this post πŸ™‚

  2. Elsie says:

    Avocado is one of those things I don’t use enough of and my family really enjoys it. I need to add it to my shopping list. This looks like the perfect summer time dinner πŸ™‚

    Happy A-Zing

    Elsie
    AJ’s wHooligan in the A-Z Challenge

  3. shailajav says:

    Please have me over for a summer break πŸ˜€ I can just loll about and let you pamper me.

  4. Ooh another food blogger on the A to Z challenge! I love making this for Sunday brunch!

    Looks like loads of interesting things on your blog – I will have to come back when I have more time! πŸ™‚

    http://www.thecotswoldfoodyear.com/search/label/A%20to%20Z%20Challenge

  5. Shalzzz says:

    Wow.. this is a simple one. Yay. I will surely try this out soon. Thanks for the recipe. Looks yum too.. πŸ™‚

  6. Cristina says:

    When I saw this link on the team sheet, reading the end of it, I knew I had to get here as soon as possible. Avocado anything is awesome in my book – red onion? Heaven!

    Keep ’em comin!

    Cristina from Filling my Prayer Closet

  7. catchats says:

    DROOOOOOLS! This looks really yummy. I love looking at recipes and hearing about what cooks and bakers are up to in their kitchens. Fun you are doing the blogging challenge, too.

  8. Bookmarked! It looks delicious.

  9. sunila says:

    Oh yummmm πŸ™‚

  10. gaurikekre says:

    I love bruschettas! I usually use my own bagels for that purpose. Would you believe it though, I have never used avocado yet. That is going to change pretty soon, coz your bruschettas look drool-worthy! A big thumbs up!

  11. I love bruschettas – but am not sure about the avocado. The one time I tried it, I was not impressed. Having said that, I’m going to give your recipe a try. πŸ™‚

  12. Debbie says:

    Although I’m not a fan of avocado, this does sound delicious and I may give it a go! πŸ™‚

  13. This is a perfect weekend brunch or late lunch πŸ™‚ I wish I could get nice Avacodo’s here. All the best for the #atozchallenge. Reflex Reactions

  14. I love bruschettas and have both my kids hooked on them too. I have never tried avocados before. Something about them being green puts me off somehow! πŸ˜€

  15. djinnia says:

    wow! those look so yummy! new recipes for me! so e’cited!

  16. Well this one can be tried at home easily as you said yourself it is easy, right? πŸ˜€

    Richa

  17. I love cooking….let me see what I can learn here that works for my kitchen πŸ™‚

  18. swathishenoy says:

    this looks easy and yummy πŸ™‚ gonna try dis πŸ™‚ waiting for more delicious recipes πŸ™‚

  19. Roshni says:

    Simple and yummy!!

  20. Laine Gray says:

    This sounds so scrumptious! Can’t wait for more posts! πŸ™‚

  21. S(t)ri says:

    Yummy…. my tummy is jealous!!!!

  22. Kajal says:

    A bit hungry now…the picture looks awesome as well πŸ™‚

  23. This is a great snack! I’ve had dinner but I’m hungry…yummy!

Leave a Reply

