A momentary lapse of reason

I signed up to the A-Z challenge in a momentary lapse of reason. It seemed like a brilliant idea at the time. And with my inspired planner’s hat on, I could see neat rows of excel sheets detailing what I would post and when. The trouble when you write a baking blog is that writing a post also needs you to bake in advance! Yeah, minor detail.

April has flown past and not only did I survive the A-Z Challenge 2014, I will definitely be coming back for more.

A-Z Challenge Collage

30 days of madness, excitement and more calories than can be burnt in a month.

Here’s my recipe for surviving and staying sane through the A-Z Challenge.

Ingredients:

1 Momentary Lapse of reason

1 good friend who inspires you to sign on

A handful of panic attacks

A generous amount of enthusiasm

A great bunch of fellow bloggers, egging you on

An A-Z melting pot of FB support group, posts and comments (to vent your feelings)

and most importantly,

1 supportive husband (love of photography – optional)

Method:

1. Read friend’s announcement about A-Z Challenge. Sign up, yourself.

2. Read about co-bloggers’ comments and panic about how much catching up is involved.

3. Mix enthusiasm with too many ideas. Discard ideas and start afresh.

4. Chew nails, almost quit.

5. Let husband’s rational brain reason calm your emotional mush. Repeat through the month.

6. Stir in large doses of enthusiasm through the weeks. Mix well with late night testing and tasting recipes and scheduling posts.

7. Explore co-bloggers posts and pepper with comments. Repeat for 30 days or more.

8. Look back on the month with pride and joy and gratitude.

9. Look forward to A-Z 2015!

Notes:

1. This recipe yields: new friendships, great reads and a month of excitement. (Here’s a link to the A-Z posts of my fellow bloggers and A-Z Challenge participants. If you’ve missed them, I’d highly recommend reading and bookmarking these pages and blogs. Inspiring, informative, mind-expanding, wonderful!)

PS: In sum, all I’d like to say is that everyone needs a few momentary lapses of reason in their life and a bestie to see them through it.

 

A-to-Z Reflection [2014]

 

About The Weekend Baker

Weekend baker, cook book collector, gatherer of family recipes.. I have inherited my love for baking, cooking and experimenting in the kitc
This entry was posted in Challenges and competitions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A momentary lapse of reason

  1. doreenb8 says:

    This is the best reflection post I’ve read! Great job on the challenge.
    What a nice book your posts would make.
    Congratulations!
    doreenmcgettigan.com

  2. Shailaja /Doting Mom says:

    Such a perfect reflections post! In total keeping with your theme too. Loved it and glad you joined, Mon :) Yay! Congrats!

  3. Carol Graham says:

    ABSOLUTELY LOVED YOUR POST. So glad we connected

  4. djinnia says:

    your recipes made me drool and this one made me smile. congrats on surviving!

  5. Cristina says:

    You are SO deliciously talented and creative. I can’t stand it! Love this reflection post. Perfectly baked!

  6. Your post is so cleverly written and a delight to read. It’s my first time here but not my last. Thanks for stopping by me earlier. Michelle @ http://www.writer-way.blogspot.com

  7. Beloo Mehra says:

    Loved it, loved it! The best reflection post I have seen so far :) Congratulations for completing the challenge but more than that congratulations for such an excellent recipe that you have invented here :) Did I say, I loved it :)
    I am not a baker, well not really too much into cooking (eating is a separate matter, won’t say anything on that), but after reading this post I am definitely going to check out some of your posts now. So what if I won’t ever bake those goodies. But I am now looking forward to the fun ingredient found in those recipes :)

    Beauty Interprets, Expresses, Manifests the Eternal

  8. nabanita21 says:

    I really liked the let your husband calm you point! And congrats on completing the challenge and I really enjoyed the recepies :)

    Reflections on A2Z Challenge-Random Thoughts Naba

  9. nabanita21 says:

    Congrats on completing the challenge…I enjoyed the recepies though I’m not a gr8 cook myself but I do enjoy eating :)

  10. Loni Townsend says:

    This is fabulous! An excellent recipe and wonderfully compiled. Certainly made me smile.

  11. shellymona says:

    Wow what a receipe! This kind I’m gonna invent a lot more for different situations….hope to read more of your posts in future…..congratulations!!!

  12. Debbie says:

    What a great Reflection post! I’ve been lagging ever since the Challenge ended, but hope to be able to visit more blogs in June.

Leave a Reply

