Zis for Za’atar spiced pita chips

Love pita chips? Make your own! Add some zing with za’atar, a Middle Eastern spice mix.

Can’t find Za’atar easily? Make your own with this easy recipe.

These baked pita chips are one example of where you can use store bought ingredients and assemble them to add your own special touch.

Munch away or serve them with hummous or any dip of your choice. I dunked mine in peri -peri hummous.

Za'atar spiced pita chips

Za’atar spiced pita chips

Ingredients:

2-3 tablespoons za’atar spice mix

2-4 tablespoons olive oil

salt to taste

4-5 pitas

 

sesame, sumac, oregano, marjoram, cumin, salt and pita chips

sesame, sumac, oregano, marjoram, cumin, salt and pita chips

Method:

1. Preheat oven to Gas 4 or 350 F.

2. Using a pair of kitchen scissors open up the layers of the pita and then cut them into pieces. This should give you pieces slightly thicker than a tortilla.

3. Grease 2 baking trays and arrange the pita pieces on them.

4. Drizzle the pita pieces with olive oil and then sprinkle the za’atar spice mix and salt.

5. Bake in the oven for 12-15 minutes until the pitas look nicely toasted and crispy. Halfway through the baking process, using a spatula move the pita pieces around on the tray. Alternatively, rotate the trays from back to front.

6. Cool. Munch and crunch your way through them.

 

Notes:

1. The spice quantities are approximate. I like mine lightly dusted. My husband likes to see his pita chips covered in the spices.

2. You can try the same with chapatis or tortillas. The baking time will vary with the thickness of the chapatis/tortillas.

 

About The Weekend Baker

Weekend baker, cook book collector, gatherer of family recipes.. I have inherited my love for baking, cooking and experimenting in the kitc
This entry was posted in Appetisers and Nibbles, Baking, Savoury and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Zis for Za’atar spiced pita chips

  1. always looking for new and delicious recipes! glad i stopped by!
    great job with the challenge!

  2. I tried the same but a fried version with rotis. No Zatar though, completely desi

    PhenoMenon

    http://throodalookingglass.com/2014/04/zzyzx/

    • Crispy pita/ rotis – delicious either way. :) My mum crisps them on a griddle and we used to eat them with ghee and sugar, back in the days when we could burn off the calories just by eating. ;)

  3. Vidya Sury says:

    Yum Yum, Monica. Thank God I just had my breakfast! :D
    I am going to try the Za’tar recipe. ♥

  4. simple girl says:

    I just chanced upon your blog,.. and the theme is definitely my favourite.. the pictures look yummy ..

  5. precari0us says:

    This looks yum. I mist try it soon. Congratulations for successful completion of the challenge.

    – Kripali
    (AJ’s wHooligans)
    A2ZFiction
    Sumptuous Living

  6. reshma says:

    great job Monica, A – Z baked goodies were simply great, I put on a few pounds just reading them. each and every recipe was well thought out, had its own twist. I know you had fun too. congratulations.

  7. Shailaja /Doting Mom says:

    Such a zinging end to a tasty challenge! Monica, loved the enthusiasm in your posts. Thanks for the culinary experience <3 Congrats on finishing A-Z :)

  8. elixired says:

    Gosh! This is something I am feeling weak for! Beautiful picture and tempting ingredients!
    Congratulations on completion of the challenge! :) Your blog is seriously precious :)) Keep jotting down the recipes for us :)

  9. nabanita says:

    Congrats on completing the challenge and giving us some amazing recepies :)

    Z for Zen-Random Thoughts Naba

  10. Cristina says:

    I tried making pita chips once with a friend (read drinking wine). Needless to say, they were pita burnts. Maybe I will try making these, sober!

  11. S(t)ri says:

    Looks awesome. I must try it! (read try eating it ;) )

  12. obsessivemom says:

    What a find your blog has been. I might have missed out some recipes but have completely enjoyed the ones I did read. And the drool worthy pictures were just amazing! We’re friends on FB so see you around.

    • Thanks, Tulika. My sentiments exactly about your blog. Really glad to have met you virtually and look forward to staying in touch. Will pass on your comments on the pics to the official photographer. ;)

  13. Rajlakshmi says:

    ohh my heart!! this would go so well with the tea I am sipping now :)

  14. Congratulations for completing the challenge. It was fun. I like munching on snacks and these look yummy. Thanks for the recipe. http://www.writer-way.blogspot.com

    • Michelle, thanks for popping by. Your blog looks impressive especially given that you wrote most of your posts on the day. That’s not just creative, that’s brilliant. Glad you enjoyed the challenge and congratulations to you too for completing it so successfully.

  15. I love crispy pita chips. We get them from a nearby store. Never knew it was this simple to prepare. Will definitely give it a try.

    • Avada Kedavra! (I love your username, Ash. I know I have told you so before but each time I look at it, I think – So cool! Why didn’t I think of it!’ :) )
      Anyway, that digression aside, these pita crispies are super easy and super quick to make. Go ahead and try them. Let me know what you think once you have. Cheers!

  16. akaushiva says:

    What a fancy word za’atar!! Looks yummy n crunchy! Superbly done with the challenge! Congrats! :) Aditi

Leave a Reply

