W is for Whole wheat Thins

After a nearly a month of desserts and cookies, I was craving a healthy snack. No cheese or chocolate or walnuts this time round.

I scouted around and found this one that I hadn’t come across before. The unusual combination of ingredients made me stick to the recipe and to the ingredients, for once. (Well, almost.)

So here’s to another recipe from Two Peas and their Pod.

These wheat thins are a little sweet,  a little salty and quite perfect.

Ingredients:

75 grams whole wheat flour (I used Pillsbury atta)

14 grams sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon paprika

30 grams of butter

1/8 cup water

1/8 teaspoon vanilla

Method:

1. Preheat oven to Gas 6 or 400 F. Grease and paper a baking tray and keep aside

2. Whisk all the dry ingredients together – flour, salt, sugar and paprika – to combine.

3. Cut the butter into chunks and mix it thoroughly with the dry ingredients. I used my hands and mixed the butter in till the mixture resembled breadcrumbs. (You could also use a food processor or pastry hook attachment.)

4. Add the vanilla extract and the water and continue to mix until you have a smooth dough. If it feels too try dry add a couple of tablespoons of cold water.

5. Once the dough is smooth, divide into 2 equal balls. Roll them out as you would a tortilla or a chapati. (It won’t be as smooth a process, just aim for an evenly thick disc, of sorts.) When you have rolled it slightly thicker than a tortilla, cut into pieces. I cut these into diamonds with a pastry cutter.

How thick can the wheat thins be?

How thick can the wheat thins be?

6. Lay these pieces onto the baking tray and bake for about 7 – 9 minutes, keeping a watch over them and taking the tray out of the oven once they are golden brown.

7. Continue steps 5 and 6 until you have used up the dough.

8. Cool the wheat thins and store in an airtight container.main thins

Notes:

1. These go well with a cheesy dip. Equally nice cracker style with a slice of cheese.

2. If you are a fan of the Britannia 50-50 biscuits, you will love these. I guarantee it.

 

About The Weekend Baker

Weekend baker, cook book collector, gatherer of family recipes.. I have inherited my love for baking, cooking and experimenting in the kitc
This entry was posted in Appetisers and Nibbles, Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to W is for Whole wheat Thins

  1. obsessivemom says:

    Doable and healthy.. a winning combination as far as I go. Thank you.

  2. Rajlakshmi says:

    they look great :) Once I start cooking normal dishes without any disasters, I will try these :)

  3. S(t)ri says:

    Wowwwwwwwwww I love these!! :D

    ~S(t)ri Writes

  4. sunila says:

    Wowie they do look good n crunchy n if they’re like 50-50 which my lil one and I adore then am sure, we’d love these :)

Leave a Reply

